1988 to 2018 – 30 Years Supporting K-12 Education

It all began in 1988 when our first board, comprised of local business and community leaders, recognized the need to support our public schools and worked to donate $4,420 to educational and activity programs to our public schools. Today, through continued hard work and because of the generosity of our supporters, the impact of the Education Foundation to improve the quality of education and enhance the learning and extra-curricular activities of our students in Bend, La Pine & Sunriver has grown substantially.

With gratitude we honor our founding board members. Without their vision and tireless work our support of the K-12 educational community in Bend, La Pine and Sunriver would not be possible these past 30 years.
Craig Moore, President
Kathy Hoffman, Vice President
Sen. Neil Bryant, Legal Counsel
Liz Main, Secretary
Linda Huston, Treasurer
Board of Directors: Keith Battleson, Don Bauhofer, Bob Bristol, Carol Carter, Fred Cartmill, Sherry Curl, Gary Fiebick, Cathy Grogan, Jim Jarvis, Art Johnson, Becky Johnson, Brenda Kinkaid, Ray Lakey, Patti Moss, Larry Patterson, Jim Prosser, Gordon Robberson, Vicki Russell, Clella Thomas, Jeff Timm, Jean Tonsfeldt, Maria Wattier and Candy Williamson.

We provide resources and support to educators, with priority given to District identified high-need schools, to engage and better prepare students for the demands of college and today’s job market. Although we continue to have unfunded or partially funded classroom grant requests, our efforts focus on fulfilling our mission and creating impact in our public schools – just as it was in 1988. Without our committed board members and wonderful supporters and donors, the work of the Foundation in enhancing educational and extra-curricular activities would not be possible. THANK YOU.

$89,000 for innovative STEM, Art, Music & Wellness Classroom Grants 2018-2019
$36,000 for Activity Fee Scholarships for at risk middle & high school students 2017-2018
$28,000 for Perseverance Awards for graduating students 2018-2019
$10,000 for Latino Scholarships for graduating students 2018-2019